Monty’s unofficial first day.

Today I attended the puppy seminar and met for a one-on-one consultation with a trainer named Pam. I was surprised at how knowledgeable she was (i guess i underestimated PetsMart). She basically just chatted with me and answered any of my questions. She showed me a really effective way to stop Monty to do bad things. Basically she made a sound that snaps his brain out of it and when he stops you give him a treat. I did on him and it worked. I can’t wait to show you!

Monty was really good, he was just casually walking around the pen area. I told her he’s pretty much potty trained and my main concern was the biting and walking. She tried to briefly show me how to walk him properly and boy, it’s pretty difficulty becuase he keeps pulling. 

She said when Monty reaches 6 months he’s gonna be a teenager and he’ll start to be rebellious which is why early training is good. 

I also returned those nasty bones! On the way out Monty ran into another puppy (I think his name was Charlie) who was gonna be in the same Monday class as him. I’ve never seen him play so well! Monty was bigger than him so he would jump on him. THen Monty would let the other puppy jump on him after. It was really adorable. They were both so happy! Pam said when Monty meets new dogs he needs to sniff their faces first before sniffing their bums. It shows older dogs that he’s a puppy so they’ll cut him more slack when he’s being annoying to them.

It was really promising, I really like the fact the class involves other dogs. It starts next Monday at 8pm 🙂

P.S. Monty misses mama

Leave a Reply

